karen headstandRecently I’ve been writing about the shifting sands of change and becoming comfortable with the ebb and flow that is life…

No better time than now to embrace change as we are slowly wrapping up our incredible NZ adventure to head back to our friends, family, and canine in the US (wondering about the state of Congress in three weeks??? hopefully there will be someone left working to let us back in…). 

Anyhow.

I’ve been thinking – in typical yogic fashion, it works better upside down….

Since I’m all about holistic health education – just another way to say, mind, body & spirit – I’m going to try something new with my blog.

After 3 years, I need a change – maybe you do too.

I’ve got a new life, a new career, and a new man – it’s time for a new blog.

And for my faithful readers (like mom) – don’t worry, I’m still going to write about my faith and spirituality – because that is who I am. I’m just going to add some new things that are very important to me and hopefully to you as well.

Here’s what I’m thinking…

I’ll still post 3 times/week – Monday, Wednesday and Friday mornings –

On Monday, you’ll receive an inspirational post to get your week started on the right track. Monday’s posts will be what you’ve come to expect in my writing – simple insights from my life experience in living by faith to nourish your spirit.

Then, on Wednesday, I’ll give you a yummy, nutrient-dense recipe and/or strategy to beautify you from the inside out – lots of cleansing, pure foods and juices to give you fresh, glowing skin and an energetic, powerful, and bodacious body.

On Friday, I’ll help you prepare for the weekend with a restorative meditation and/or yoga session to help you unwind, de-stress, and shine your inner radiance.

Warning: All of this good, juicy stuff just may become habit-forming.

Are you in?

I’m excited, hope you are too!!

And, to jump-start things – here’s a little preview of Wednesday’s treats – 

I call this, Beet-lejuice – It’s what’s for breakfast this morning.

Beet-lejuice ingredients

Ingredients:

  • 3-4 leafy greens (i.e., kale, swiss chard, bok choy, spinach) – greens are chock-full of nutrients including manganese, folate, calcium, protein, magnesium and more anti-inflammatory goodies.
  • 1/2 organic apple, skin on – healthful properties include vitamin C, pectin, and fat-burning fiber – plus, it adds a touch of sweetness to our veggie juice.
  • 1 1/2 inch peeled ginger – this anti-inflammatory, anti-gas, antioxidant tastes yummy too!
  • 1/2 organic cucumber, skin-on – full of B vitamins and anti-inflammatory nutrients, added plus – cucumbers are 95% water so they are a great body hydrator.
  • 1/4 – 1/2 beet – anti-inflammatory and nutrient rich with folate, manganese and fiber. Caveat: ingesting beets can cause urine to appear pink or red in some people. Totally freaked me out until I figured out what it was.
  • 1/2 lime peeled – citric acid, vitamin C and detoxifying for the body and skin.
  • 1/2 grapefruit peeled – yes, that orange looking fruit is actually grapefruit – this is how they look in NZ. Grapefruits are a great source of fiber, potassium, calcium, vitamin A, folate, thiamine, niacin, magnesium, vitamin C, and have been found to repair prostate DNA. Caveat: Citric acid in grapefruit may react unfavorably with certain medications. 
  • 1 organic carrot – adds a touch of sweetness and Vitamin A, K and fiber – leave skin on.

Throw it all in your juicer & enjoy!

**Note: Using the above amounts, this made 400ml or about 13 ounces of juice in my NZ Breville juicer. In Miami, I use a VitaMix which I prefer for ease of clean-up and the fact that you get all of the fiber and pulp. It is generally recommended that you drink juice immediately after juicing to get the most nutrients and benefits. However, you can store in a glass container in the fridge for up to 24 hours – just shake before drinking as separation will occur. (I bought my VitaMix professional series at Bed, Bath & Beyond with their 20% coupon which saved me about $100. – it doesn’t pay to be cheap with your health:))

juicer veggiesbeetlejuice